A creamy health soup to could nights

Leandro S. Costa
2 min readNov 7, 2021

--

Here in Ireland the nights are already quite cold and this dinner option is very good because you can use as a base for various combinations and it has a lot of protein and few calories.

The base of the soup is onion, lots of onions, cauliflower and potatoes, then I added mushrooms and chicken, but I think that with beef it should be very good too, like a “vaca atolada (Brazilian dish made with beef and cassava) and if you want a vegetarian option, with mushrooms is a great choice.

In a pan, caramelize two large onions, cut into very thin slices with salt and oil, for this, leave the pan over medium heat and keep stirring the pan, when onion is very soft, almost melting, add a spoon of vinegar and remove from pan.

Then, in the same pan, brown some mushrooms again with salt and a little oil, after they are ready, I also remove them from the pan.

Time to grill some chicken already salted, I add a little thyme but I think with parsley it would be even better. I always use the same pan, once it's ready, I remove and reserve it.

Now I add the cauliflower, potatoes and water to the pan, the water will release all the flavours that has accumulated in the bottom of the pan.

Once cooked, I blend the potatoes and cauliflower, add all the ingredients and add the salt and pepper.

The texture of this soup together with a caramelised onion is so good, you really should try it.

If you liked this content, I also share it on my Instagram

https://www.instagram.com/leandroscosta

--

--

Leandro S. Costa

Brazilian based in Ireland, Designer and Creative developer